Repeating the sins of his father

Wealth isn’t the only thing Donald Trump inherited from his father.  He inherited his racism too.

Here’s what Woody Guthrie wrote about his landlord in Brooklyn, Fred Trump (Donald Trump’s father), who, according to Guthrie, wouldn’t rent to African-Americans.

I suppose
Old Man Trump knows
Just how much
Racial Hate
he stirred up
In the bloodpot of human hearts
When he drawed
That color line
Here at his
Eighteen hundred family project.

Beach Haven ain’t my home!
I just can’t pay this rent!
My money’s down the drain!
And my soul is badly bent!
Beach Haven looks like heaven
Where no black ones come to roam!
No, no, no! Old Man Trump!
Old Beach Haven ain’t my home.

About S. In

a cultural critic, an avid traveler and a purveyor of social justice and education equity View all posts by S. In

You must be logged in to post a comment.

